Skip to main content

 Rotary Club of Marietta logo - small tight

Upcoming Luncheons:
July 8, 2015 - Richard Gerakitis
July 15, 2015-  Rodney Bullard
July 22, 2015 - Cobb County Commissioner Bob Weatherford
July 29, 2015 - District Governor Bob Hagan

Upcoming Events:
July 9, 2015 - MUST Lunch Service
Download the latest issue! 

About Us

The Club

Welcome to the Rotary Club of Marietta, the premier Rotary club in the District and one that abounds with enthusiasm, energy and friendship.  Founded in 1919, it is one of the oldest and largest in Georgia.


This club has a wide range of projects and service opportunities local, national and international. There is literally something for everyone.


The ages of our members range from 27 years to 98 years and the interchange between the members gives enormous opportunities for learning, mentoring and networking.


The Rotary Club of Marietta meets most
Wednesdays from 12:15 until 1:00 at the Hilton Atlanta/Marietta Conference Center:


500 Powder Springs Street

Marietta, GA 30064


Map  Directions

Club Leadership

2014-2015 Club Leadership:


Dawn McEachern, President

James Eubanks, President-Elect

Chris Bailey, Treasurer

Becky Sawyer, Secretary

Kelly Maxwell, Director of Club Administration

Jesse Evans, Director of Club Service

Reuben Green, Director of Public Relations

Daniel White, Director of Membership

Lesia Schnur, Director of the Rotary Foundation

Mark Barbour, Past-President and Presidential Advisor
Walt Walker, MRFF Chairman


            The Marietta Rotary Foundation Fund, Inc. (MRFF), is the vehicle through which the Club makes its charitable disbursements. MRFF was incorporated in 1963 with the petitioners being Harold Schilling, Speedy Meaders, Russell Dalton, and Phil Malonson. MRFF is a 501(c)3 charitable organization under the Internal Revenue Code and was formed so that members could deduct contributions from their income taxes and so that the Club Boards would have an organization from which to solicit contributions.


            While boasting common membership, MRFF and the Rotary Club of Marietta are separate corporations with separate boards. The Club operates under the auspices of Rotary International, while MRFF is independent. The structure of  MRFF’s board promotes continuity and is comprised of an elected chairman, an elected treasurer, the current Club President, the immediate Past Club President, and the President Elect of the Club. Dues to MRFF are approved by the members and requests for charitable disbursements must be initiated by the Club Board. MRFF’s Board, however, must approve all disbursements and has a fiduciary duty independent of the Club.


            Prior to the 1999-2000 Rotary year, MRFF was operated on a cash-in, cash-out basis. While the Foundation did have reserves, investment income was negligible and the vast majority of disbursements were funded from member dues. Annual disbursements for the Georgia Rotary Student Program and a variety of scholarships and other donations totaled about $15,000 per year. The Club Board was additionally allowed approximately $2,500 for unbudgeted discretionary expenditures.


            In 1999, Club President Joe DeSantis urged the Foundation to adopt a separate endowment and urged the members to substantially increase its dues to MRFF in order to expand MRFF’s current and future charitable presence in the community. After recommendations were made by a blue ribbon committee, the membership, by an overwhelming margin, voted to increase the dues to MRFF and voted to request that MRFF establish an endowment. The MRFF board, by a unanimous vote, did so. At the same time, MRFF bylaws were revised to protect the endowment corpus. Per MRFF bylaws, annual endowment disbursements are determined by the MRFF Board in an amount to allow substantial disbursements while insuring that the endowment continues to grow. Disbursements, in any case, cannot exceed 5% of the endowment balance on the preceding December 31.


            The Endowment is funded by annual dues, proceeds from the Club’s weekly drawing, investment income, fund-raisers and donations from members and the public. Currently, the Endowment is approximately $250,000. The investment policy is recommended by a committee of professionals that reports to the MRFF board. The head of the investment committee is, currently, Billy Schroer.


            Prior to 1986, a new chairman was appointed each year to oversee MRFF. Nonetheless, as an original petitioner, member Phil Malonson kept a constant and watchful eye on MRFF. In 1986, Phil’s oversight of MRFF was formalized as MRFF abandoned the practice of appointing a new chairman each year, in effect electing Phil as permanent chair. Phil held this position through 1998, at which time he recommended his successor, Walt Walker. Phil remained on the committee as an advisor until his death in 2001.


            During MRFF’s existence, charitable disbursements have exceeded three quarters of a million dollars. Current annual disbursements are approximately $30,000 and the Club Board receives approximately $10,000 for annual discretionary charitable expenditures. The most prominent project continues to be the Georgia Rotary Student Program.  The Fund also has acted as trustee for the Karl and Paula Reinhard Trust since 1990. The Reinhard Trust provides an annual scholarship to help a Cobb County resident with post college studies abroad


            With the exception of state registration fees and required bonding fees, all income is either spent on charitable disbursements or is used to supplement fund assets. MRFF has no employees and no officer or director receives any compensation.

Service Above Self since 1919